Official English in the States

                                                      According to the citizen action group U.S. English, there are now 31 states that have English as their official state language.  The states in blue have English as their official language, while the states in red do not.  At first glance it would appear that the states without English as their official language are either traditionally liberal or have significant hispanic populations (but the research continues).

Interesting Fact: Hawaii has two official languages; English and Hawaiian.

“Language is the archives of history”

-Ralph Waldo Emerson


About officialenglishpolicy

I am a George Mason Graduate student on a public policy quest to enlighten the masses. "Public sentiment is everything. With public sentiment nothing can fail; without it nothing can succeed. He who molds public sentiment goes deeper than he who enacts statutes or decisions possible or impossible to execute." -Abraham Lincoln
This entry was posted in State Legislation and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s